“The Night Stalker” by Megan Griffiths (2016)

The Night Stalker

Cast: Bellamy Young, Lou Diamond Phillips, Chelle Sherrill, Benjamin Barrett, Andrew Ruiz
Director: Megan Griffiths
Writer: Megan Griffiths
Cinematographer: Quyen Tran
Composer: Matthew Emerson Brown, Jeremy Koepping


“Missing Woman” by Eon-hie Lee (S.Korea, 2016)

Non-U.S. female directors

Missing Woman

Surprising script, good suspense, a bit melodramatic

Cast: Ji-won Uhm, Hyo-Jin Kong, Joon Go
Director: Eon-hie Lee
Writers: Eun-mi Hong, Eon-hie Lee
Music Department: Ja wan Koo

“Revenge” by Coralie Fargeat (France, 2017)



fantastic photography and camera work… and a flood of blood!

Cast: Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz, Kevin Janssens, Vincent Colombe, Guillaume Bouchède
Director: Coralie Fargeat
Writer: Coralie Fargeat
Director of Photography: Robrecht Heyvaert
Editor: Coralie Fargeat, Bruno Safar, Jérôme Eltabet
Music: Robin Coudert

“Pure” by Lisa Langseth (Sweden, 2010)


Outstanding acting by Vikander / a not really focused and a bit chaotic musical choice / original title: To What’s Beautiful

Cast: Alicia Vikander, Samuel Fröler, Josephine Bauer
Director: Lisa Langseth
Writer: Lisa Langseth
Music by Per-Erik Winberg
Cinematography by Simon Pramsten
Film Editing by Malin Lindström

“Eden” by Megan Griffiths (USA, 2012)


Cast: Jamie Chung, Beau Bridges, Matt O’Leary
Director: Megan Griffiths
Writers: Richard B. Phillips, Megan Griffiths
Music by Matthew Emerson Brown, Jeramy Koepping, Joshua Morrison
Cinematography by Sean Porter
Film Editing by Eric Frith

“Mi Vida Loca” (My Crazy Life) by Allison Anders (USA, 1993)

Mi vida loca

Cast: Angel Aviles, Seidy Lopez, Jacob Vargas
Written and Directed by Allison Anders
Music by John Taylor
Cinematography by Rodrigo García
Film Editing by Richard Chew, Tracy Granger, Kathryn Himoff

“You Were Never Really Here” by Lynne Ramsay (USA, 2017)

you were never really here

Excellent direction, audacious editing and sound, a movie full of surprises…
but little content and too much meaningless violence!

Cast: Joaquin Phoenix, Ekaterina Samsonov, Alessandro Nivola, Alex Manette, Judith Roberts
Director: Lynne Ramsay
Writer (based on the book by) Jonathan Ames
Writer: Lynne Ramsay
Cinematographer: Thomas Townend
Editor: Joe Bini
Composer: Jonny Greenwood